June 1, 2023

A look back at the last five Major League Soccer Cup winners

As Los Angeles FC and the Philadelphia Union put together for the 2022 MLS Cup final on Saturday, we get a look back again at the final 5 winners of the title.

Michael Bradley

Toronto FC lifted the 2017 MLS Cup. / Vaughn Ridley/GettyImages

In 2017, Toronto FC hosted the Seattle Sounders. The Canadian side seemed to get revenge in opposition to the Sounders to seize their to start with-at any time MLS Cup title in club heritage. 

Soon after a scoreless first half, Jozy Altidore uncovered the back of the internet to earn the lead. Victor Vazquez then prolonged the score with a stoppage time target to deliver BMO Subject into a frenzy. The Canadian aspect has finally received the Cup.

michael parkhurst

Atlanta United gained the 2018 trophy. / Ira L. Black – Corbis/GettyImages

 In just their second 12 months in Significant League Soccer, Gerardo Martino hosted the Portland Timbers in front of a promote-out group of 73,019  at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Goals from Josef Martinez and Franco Escobar propelled Atlanta United to victory, inevitably triumphing 2- to turn out to be the 13th club to at any time MLS Cup and give the metropolis of Atlanta its initially key sports title considering the fact that 1995.

Seattle Sounders MLS Cup

The Seattle Sounders gained the 2019 MLS Cup. / Craig Mitchelldyer/ISI Photos/GettyImages

In a rematch of the 2016 and 2017 MLS Cup finals, the Seattle Sounders hosted Toronto FC.  

After a scoreless initially fifty percent, the aims last but not least came flooding in for the Western Convention facet as Kelvin Leerdam, Victor Rodriguez, and Raul Ruidiaz all scored. Although Toronto managed to pull a person back again with a purpose from Jozy Altidore, the Sounders sealed the acquire and clinched their 1st title in three decades.

Jonathan Mensah

Columbus Crew SC received the 2020 MLS Trophy. / Omar Vega/GettyImages

2020 saw a various Main League Soccer year, with the COVID-19 pandemic adjusting a number of areas. But we continue to observed an MLS Cup ultimate choose location, exactly where the Columbus Crew took on the then defending champions Seattle Sounders. 

In entrance of only 1,500 followers at Mapfre Stadium, the house side snuck a few previous the Seattle Sounders. Plans from Lucas Zelarayán and Derrick Etienne propelled the Crew to the trophy, lifting their 2nd MLS Cup in team background.

New York City FC v Portland Timbers

New York Town FC lifted the 2021 trophy. / Andy Mead/ISI Photographs/GettyImages

Just after ending in fourth spot on the Jap Convention desk, NYCFC labored their way via the MLS playoffs to achieve their initial-at any time Cup final visual appeal. The crew traveled all the way to Providence Park to take on match-favorites Portland Timbers. 

The final noticed a chaotic match, with Valentin Castellanos opening up the scoring in the 41st moment, just before Felipe Mora managed an further time equalizer to send things into time beyond regulation, and eventual penalties. Goalkeeper Sean Johnson manufactured two important will save in advance of Alexander Callens scored the winning kick to assist NYCFC clinch their to start with-at any time MLS Cup title.